Are you eligible to own a licensed firearm? See the list below for eligibility qualifications:
- Must be at least 21 years of age or older. NOTE: 18-21 year olds are now eligible if they are military – 2005 Texas LTC law change.
- Not chemically dependent.
- No convictions of any felonies.
- Not charged with any commission of a felony. Either Class A or B misdemeanor, or Disorderly Conduct.
- Not a fugitive from justice for a felony, whether Class A or B misdemeanor.
- Not been convicted of a Class A or B misdemeanor in five years preceding the application or an offense under Disorderly Conduct, Section 42.01, Penal Code.
- Not incapable of exercising sound judgment in regards of the use and storage of a firearm.
- Has not been determined as delinquent in the payment of a tax or other collection of money by the comptroller.
- Has not been determined as delinquent in the payment(s) of child support by the attorney general
- Has not been adjudicated for having engaged in a delinquent conduct voilating panel law in a grade of a felony, within the 10 years preceding date of application.
- Fully certified under state and federal law to purchase a firearm.
- Not currently restricted under a protective order by the court subject to a retraining order which may affect a spousal relationship.
- Not made any misrepresentation or failed to disclose any information in an application submitted to pursuant Section 411.174 or in request for a submitted application pursuant to Section 411.175
Questions or comments? You can request more information regarding eligibility directly to the Texas DPS through their website: Click Here.